top of page
Search
  • Guest Author

8 Ways To Be A Productive Digital Nomad

Working anywhere and anytime has its perks. You can work in a new environment, meet new people, experience new things, and have more time doing the things you love.


However, it also has its disadvantages, like being your own constant workmate, deciding by yourself where to eat and what to eat, and managing your time wisely. Plus, you might get a little lonely with no officemates.

Ironically, it’s difficult to be productive when you have all the time in the world.

If you’re struggling with productivity as a digital nomad, here are some of the effective ways I master being productive while working remotely. I hope these tips will help you as well.

Digital Nomad work

1. Keep a Routine

“When things get rocky keep a routine.”


Routine is your friend when you’re working remotely. It’s your map to a productive daily life. It lets you know what you have to do next and allows you to accomplish things.

As a person who works remotely, I thought it would be easy to stay disciplined while working remotely. But, being a digital nomad actually required me to be much more disciplined with my time in order to accomplish more things in one day.

2. Avoid Distractions

“The most dangerous distractions are the ones you love, but don’t love you back.” Warren Buffet

What are the things you find distracting?

Determine what your distractions are and make sure to avoid them during your working hours. It’s impossible to get things done when your distraction is right in front of you. The key is to be stronger than your distractions. If you can’t be strong, at least avoid them.

I find YouTube and Pinterest distracting. This is why I don’t use these apps when I’m working because once I’m there five minutes turn into an hour.

3. Put Yourself First

“Self-care is not selfish. You cannot serve from an empty vessel.” - Eleanor Brown

It’s a good practice to take care of yourself first before you start working. Take a shower, eat a healthy breakfast, drink good coffee, go jogging, stretch and workout, or meditate. This will energize and prepare your whole being for a productive day.

Do the things you will do like you’re going to an actual office.

I always drink my favorite cup of coffee to motivate myself to work. It’s all about knowing what your mind and body need to keep it going throughout the day.

4. Use the Right Productivity Apps

“It is essential to have good tools, but it is also essential that the tools should be used in the right way.” Wallace D. Wattles

There’s no shortage of apps that can help us be more productive. It’s all about finding the right apps that suit our needs.

I use plenty of apps at work and it feels overwhelming to check a lot of apps just to see notifications from work. This is why I find eFeed useful. It’s an all-in-one productivity app where I can check all my work notifications in one app.

5. Take Breaks

“Almost everything will work again if you unplug it for a few minutes… including you.” - Anne Lamott

After every task you’ve done, take a break. Have a snack, watch funny videos, do some stretching, or simply walk for five minutes. This recharges you to do more.

I don’t know about you but sometimes I feel guilty when I take breaks especially when my workmates cannot see me. But after reading a study about the science of taking breaks, having time for myself between tasks is good for my physical and emotional health.

6. Dress Like You’re Going to Work

“The way we dress affects the way we think, the way we feel, the way we act, and the way others react to us.” - Judith Rasband

Don’t work in your pajamas. Ever. It’s not because you might look funny on Zoom videos, psychologically dressing like you're going to an office helps increase productivity.

This is one of the most effective tips I read on the internet when I started working remotely. I used to work in my house clothes before. After reading this tip, I started dressing like I’m going out to work and I felt more motivated to work. Do this and see your productivity level rise up.

7. Treat Yourself After Working

“A 'treat' is different from a 'reward,' which must be justified or earned. A treat is a small pleasure or indulgence that we give to ourselves just because we want it. Treats give us greater vitality, which boosts self-control, which helps us maintain our healthy habits.” Gretchen Rubin

It doesn’t have to be expensive. It can be simple things like watching a Netflix movie or eating a slice of your favorite cake after a long day at your remote work. This makes you look forward to finishing a task.

Doing this motivates me to finish a task. It makes my day exciting. We all need something to look forward to, so don’t forget to treat yourself after a successful day.

8. Do The Top Priority Task First

“Determine your priorities and focus on them.” Eileen McDargh

It’s unavoidable to have miscommunication when working remotely. Ask your boss or the person you are working with what they think is the most priority task. The top priority task for you may not be the top priority for them. Don’t forget to always ask this so you are all on the same page and no time is wasted.

I do the important task first for the day so when I finish it, the rest of my workday feels light and unstressful.

That’s it!

I hope you found these tips helpful. These are the things I’ve been doing since I became a digital nomad. Working remotely in different cities and countries can be exciting and distracting. This is the system that has been working for me so I can enjoy life and be productive at work at the same time.

 

More posts like this one:

20 Best Free Tools for an Online Business

How to Overcome the Challenges of Online Work

A Guide on Building your Own Website - How to Code

What is SEO Marketing? Perfect for Beginners

Learn How to Write Compelling Content for your New Website

Comments


bottom of page